Our Homeschool: A Day in the Life 2017

I’ve found it enjoyable reading through other homeschoolers’ “a day in the life” posts. I love peeking into their lives and seeing how unique each home-educating family is.

During our days at home, it’s the little things I’ll easily but hate to forget. So documenting it seems like a worthy idea. But so much happens differently than expected or planned and no day is ever, ever, EVER the same.

This is our second year homeschooling and we have a 6 (almost 7) year old and a 2.5-year-old. We stay home two to three days each week and we’re out on the others – our son attends an outdoor nature/survival camp each Wednesday, for example – so what I’m laying out is a typical day we’re scheduled to stay home.

As much as I’d love to join the Early Bird camp, I’m a Night Owl. Therefore, my children are almost always up before me. This is their alone time with dad, who’s also an early riser, which gives me a good hour before having to rise and begin our day. They snuggle, read, play or watch him work a bit.

Once I’m up, the house gets moving quickly. I light the fire and we make breakfast together which is easy when it’s the same meal each day – oatmeal, eggs, fruit and toast. We all agree our son’s scrambled eggs are much tastier than mine.

Afterward, we read and discuss our daily devotional and then throw on some worship music and dance. If my daughter needs some mama time, I’ll spend some extra play time with her so I can “fill her cup” early on in the day.

Then we’ll regroup and I’ll generally sit down to read aloud or they’ll read an audiobook on their own together. Otherwise, they generally play while I tidy up, catch up on emails or warm up my coffee up for the fourth time.

Side note: We read A TON so there are generally 50+ library books at all times laying around to choose from and the kids often flow to and from both independent reading, audiobooks or I’ll grab a few good titles and they’ll quickly make their way over to the couch as I read aloud.

My son will then pull out his spiral notebook to see what he will be working on this morning – I wrote it out the night before. This is a simple spiral notebook with a list of action items he checks off. It usually takes no more than thirty minutes and can be done independently barring any questions he might have. I rotate math, handwriting, drawing a world map, or listening to some history, art/music theory, Latin, English, Science info…etc. *(More info below about our specific homeschool style).

After he completes his morning work and we’re getting restless, if it’s a nice day, we’ll head outside to play, garden, or do some nature journaling.

But it’s February and it’s pouring! So the rest of the morning has lately turned into more time for play, more reading, chores or getting creative. The kids like to put on impromptu plays (based off stories we’ve read), or dress up and play sword fighting or pull out some games. Oftentimes there’s calm classical or relaxing spa music on in the background (which probably helps me more than it helps them).

Then, it’s lunch time. I prefer quick, simple and healthy choices.

After lunch, my daughter takes her nap. Today, I read to her for about thirty minutes while my son completed a book he’s creating for his sister in the other room. Other days he works on Spirolaterals, reads comic books or does other hobbies since his sister isn’t around to interrupt him.

And after she’s down, he and I get some one on one time. Today, we dove into learning about Spain. He receives a monthly subscription in the mail exposing him to different countries and cultures.

After my daughter wakes, we’ll probably veg out and read some more (I realize I sound like a broken record). Then we’ll spice it up, do some art – my daughter likes to paint every day so her watercolors are left out continuously. Or we’ll play music, bake or do some crafts (although crafting is my weak spot as I’m never prepared to do anything fancy).

Then it’s time to venture outdoors, regardless of weather. There’s no reason we shouldn’t be in and learn from nature unless it’s unsafe, in my humble opinion. So if I don’t have a hike or an outing planned, we simply explore our neighborhood together.

Finally, after the neighborhood kids arrive home on the bus, my son will oftentimes stay outside to play with them. One or two days a week he has drumming or Taekwondo practice – he’s on track to be a Black Belt before he’s 8.

We eat a homemade dinner together as a family almost every night of the week, intentionally, so we can read the Bible or discuss and memorize scripture together. This week, however, we’ll be starting our rich + rooted Passover by @jennifernaraki  as we prepare our hearts for Easter – while we also move into a new home nearby (yippee!). Being a minimalist family we don’t foresee this taking over our lives, thankfully.

During regular weeknights, the kids will find something quite to do while I read aloud around the fire or catch up with my husband. Currently, we’re reading C.S. Lewis’s Prince Caspian and have Ronald Dahl’s BFG on audiobook for the nights I’m too wiped to read.

Then it’s bath, books (again!) and off to bed. My husband has been reading the Action Bible to our son while I put our daughter down.

Since we own a business on the side, my husband has lately been working after they crash while I read or write. If we’re lucky, we’ll spend a few minutes chatting before turning off the lights but, as I’m sure you guessed, I’ll stay up reading late into the night because again – Night Owl.

I feel incredibly blessed to spend these fleeting days with my children learning and growing together. It’s such a thrilling, life-giving opportunity I’m so thankful to cherish.

What’s your typical (or not-so-typical) homeschool day look like?

With Love.

*
*
*

*Since I consider our style a little Christian Unschool(ish), and the kids are still extremely young, I don’t push much curriculum quite yet. Studies have shown this can have an adverse effect on their desire to become life-long learners so we’re pretty relaxed. I tell most people I loosely follow Finland in how they wait until their children are 7 years old to start any type of schooling at all. They spend a ton of time in nature and they also have the highest literacy rates. 🙂

That being said, our days at home are purposefully slow in order to create plenty of space to pursue individual passions instead of rushing through lesson plans. You can read more in my recent Deschooling post.

 

Leave a Reply

