100+ Great Books for Kindergarten Boys

I love books because books are amazing. And I believe I’ve passed this love on to our kids at an early age (hooray!).

There was a point in our homeschooling journey where I started separating the good books from the great, inspiring, educational and life-changing books BUT never forgetting to have a little fun, of course – it’s not ALL about shoving info into our child’s head.

And I read aloud to my kids a lot. I mean, more than one probably should. It’s seriously a problem. But it’s a good problem to have – or so says our librarian. We’ve maxed out our lending limits more times than I can count and I’ve started to wonder if the world has made enough books for the Wiley family.

Alas, there are more out there we could ever devour, let alone want to. I even asked my husband to open a library account (thank you love!) so I could add even more books to our stack by using three different library cards at one time. And the first time my son signed his name was on the back of his library card – *tears*, I’m telling you. Just mama tears over here people. I also have a children’s book/series in the works, sending it to publishers and keeping our fingers crossed so we can at least contribute a drop of literary art to the ocean of amazing books available out there.

That being said, my list is a little unconventional. This is partly due to the fact I’m saddened by many of the books being published today. Our children are being raised to expect immediate results to their bigger-than-life questions, so most current popular books tend to have overtly easy-reading vocabulary, too high-action and/or encourage destructive behavior.

I’ve also noticed we’ve placed lower and lower expectations for children’s literature. Just take a look at books written 50 years ago versus today. It’s really not that long ago and society has changed so much. So I urge you to read books that use more complex and challenging vocabulary aloud to your children, because they can comprehend more than you think (statistically children can understand terminology one to three grades above where they’re at in school when you read them aloud). And when they don’t understand a word or thought, implore them to ask questions! This is how they learn about the real world… not by dumbing down their literature.

And although I personally appreciate many of the classics featuring female characters recommended by so many homeschooling curricula, my son does not stick to them as much as I’d like him to. Sigh. But I’m dying to read them to my daughter in the near future (ie: Little House on the Prairie and Anne of Green Gables)

So please keep in mind, this list was made after pinpointing which books both our family loved. And although I also have a two-year-old daughter, I can imagine her list will differ slightly when she reaches Kindergarten age.

Some of these books have won national awards. Most have not because we don’t follow the crowd nor do I always agree or see all the hoopla behind the awards given. No worries, again, we’re a bit unconventional, and we like it that way. I’m not perfect nor is this list so if you see an error or disagree with something, please extend some grace…

This list is not recommended as a curriculum although many have come from other curriculum lists. I have listed a few list referrals below if you’re interested in digging deeper after reading mine.

Lastly, I would also suggest purchasing any books your kids end up loving (we’d be broke if it weren’t for the library), because you’ll find your child gleaning new information each time you read them.

I hope you and your family enjoy.
With Love.

**All links go to GoodReads or Usborne unless one isn’t available. I am not affiliated with either.

This is my Home, This is My School: Such a cute yet appropriate book taking you inside the four walls of a homeschooling family. Love it.
Library Lion: The head librarian, is very particular about rules in the library. But when a lion comes to the library one day, no one is sure what to do. There aren’t any rules about lions in the library. I’m not sure if my son loved this book so much because sometimes we all have to break the rules, or because he loves lions, or both.
My Father’s Dragon: A classic. We read through the three stories twice in two years because he loved it that much. Yes, it’s on many other lists because it’s awesome.
The Tale of Tricky Fox: Clever and funny; “Old Fox uses his sack to trick everyone he meets into giving him ever more valuable items.”
Cloudy with a Chance of Meatballs: Such a fun one to read before bed, as we often do. Make sure you get the original, as with all of the books listed here… not movie or TV adaptations.
Least of All: Even though the main character is a girl, my son related with her as she’s too small to do most chores on the farm but surprises her family when she’s the first to learn how to read.
Story of Ferdinand:  I remember reading this classic often as a child myself as not following the crowd and being different is more often than not a good virtue.
The Velveteen Rabbit: My son still thinks his stuffed animals come to life when he’s not looking thanks to this classic, heart-warming tale.
Wheelnuts (series): My son says these are his favorite books. I can usually read through each in one sitting in just under an hour and coming up with all the character voices was fun for me. Strange races through strange courses mixed with crazy characters and bold graphics.
Twenty and Ten: This was the first time I read a chapter book about WWII aloud but he listed with rapt attention and asked a lot of great questions about the children and their fate.
The Story of Ping: Every child can sympathize with a dawdling duck who wants to avoid a spanking, and share his excitement and wonder as he sails down the river.
Horton Hatches the Egg: Your heart just goes out to Horton as he watches over another animal’s egg… but the best part is watching your child empathize right alongside you.
Magic Tree House (series): My son continues to obsess over these adventure stories – we’re currently on book #40. Fun and easy to read aloud.
Smurfs (graphic novel series): I remember these blue goofs from watching the show as a child. My son, however, will always remember these whimsical and cute comic books as how he first learned to read – spending hours upon hours sifting through each one multiple times over. We finally purchased the Anthologies for him because our librarian kindly requested we return the books for others to enjoy after almost a year of hoarding them and one too many renewals.
The Boy Who Spoke to the Earth: Join the Earth and the boy in this epic tale as you learn together what it means to stand still for just a moment and find joy every step of the way.
Little Toot: There was a small collection of books my husband and I ended up recording ourselves reading aloud for our son to listen to as a gift, and this was one of them.
Llama Llama and the Bully Goat: Although we love all the Llama Llama books, this is the one he gravitated to the most, conjuring up several conversations about bullying.
Big Bad BruceBill Peet charms us every time with Bruce, a bear bully, never picks on anyone his own size until he is diminished in more ways than one by a small but very independent witch. We love Bill Peet’s books but you don’t hear about this one to often.
The Sword in the Tree: In the days of King Arthur there stood a mighty oak tree within the walls of a castle. Peace reigned in the castle until the fearsome night when Lionel, long lost brother of Lord Weldon, returned to cause trouble and unhappiness. After reading this book our son actually acted it out in his own version of a play!
The Complete Adventures of Curious GeorgeI know, it’s another well-known collection of stories but we’ve not only read through these several times but our son has pulled out the audio CD in the back and listened on his own multiple times.
Dick and JaneI personally find these short, easy-reader books a bit old-fashioned yet wholesome. But my six-year-old was hooked at three thanks to their simple silliness.
The EggGeorge finds more than he’d bargained for under his mother’s favorite chicken. But when a dragon hatches from the egg he knows it’s his motherly duty to teach the dragon dragony ways.
A Year at a Construction Site: Such a great introduction into how buildings are made, showing a birds-eye view of each stage with something funny to find on each page.
Archeologists Dig for Clues:
 In this information-packed Let’s-Read-and-Find-Out Science book, Kate Duke explains what scientists are looking for, how they find it, and what their finds reveal.
The Chocolate Touch: It might be worthwhile to discuss King Midas before reading this book to your child… but even if you don’t your kid might learn that too much of a good thing isn’t so great at all.
Puff the Magic Dragon (audiobook): My son kept asking for this book for Christmas, and I mean, c’mon, who doesn’t love the age-old song and the sweet, sweet dragon.
Sergei Prokofiev’s Peter and the Wolf (audiobook): This is THE best way to introduce your kids to classical music, in my opinion. Different instruments depict each character and Peter Malone’s paintings have the luminous quality of old Russian masters… After reading this several times through, we then went on to read all the different versions of Peter and the Wolf yet this one remains our favorite despite how this retelling is kinder to the animals in the end.
Fly Guy (series): These are also books my son wanted to read on his own and although my mother thinks they’re “utterly gross,” my two-year-old is now also obsessed with them.
Mercy Watson (series): This is another series we literally flew through once we started them and again, my two-year-old begs me to reread them. Great illustrations and stories.
Berenstain Bears BibleOf course we love most of the (original) Berenstain Bears stories. And if your kid breezes through bibles like mine, this one’s a fun one to read. There is an audiobook version, which is what my then 5-year-old listened to several times through, and then re-enacted all the stories for me to record on video. (I don’t go into each Bible’s theology as we have many of them around the home and I’m simply finding it fascinating watching my kids devour them – thus I’ve chosen to offer multiple versions instead of limiting them).
A Child’s Book of Prayer in Art“Looking at art is one way of listening to God.” ~Sister Wendy Beckett. I couldn’t agree more. This was one of those garage sale finds that ended up transforming many mornings in our household as we discussed art intereperation, art history and our faith.
How Much is a Million? My son loves numbers and often asks what a million, billion, trillion and google actually is. So when I stumbled on this find, it was an instant hit.
Dragon Masters (series): Such a fun series to read aloud, some suspence and although this book is more on the modern end of the spectrum, what Kindergartener doesn’t love dragons, a Dragon Stone, a king, a wizard, and magic?
King Bidgood’s in the Bathtub: My son thought this was just a hilarious story (and so did I). Everyone tries to lure King Bidgood from his cozy bathtub, but he won’t get out! Will anyone be able to solve this problem?
Three Bears in a Boat: You guys, I love it when I love a book just as much as my kids do. This sweet, sweet book was read over and over again. I love the illustrations that tell the story of three bear siblings who break their mother’s favorite blue seashell, and rather than tell her, they decide to set out in their sailboat to find her a new one.
Lu and the Swamp Ghost: A little adventure, a little mystery but a lot of southern culture and heart. We loved this book and the meaning behind it: “You’re never poor if you have a loving family and one good friend.”
Little Bear Adventures: These five classic stories are on many lists out there and if you haven’t read them yet, you’ll learn why after you do.
Sneetches and other StoriesThese stories hopefully take you, as the parent, back in time. Great moral lessons yet crazy, unforgettable characters and rhyming stories.
Shakespeare Collection (by Usborne): Usborne has done it again (I actually considered selling Usborne books at one point because they’re pretty awesome)… But These five stories are retellings of ‘Macbeth’, ‘Twelfth Night’, ‘Hamlet’, ‘A Midsummer Night’s Dream’ and ‘Romeo and Juliet’ for early readers. If I remember correctly, Macbeth and Hamlet were my son’s favorite and we blew through these in one coffee sitting, what was nice (because they’re Shakespeare), but provided a perfect introduction to his timeless works.
Pirate School (series): When our son turned four, we held an epic Pirate Birthday party for him. It was during this time I seet out to find fun pirate books and landed on these chapter books. They teach comraderie, overcoming bad situations, fears and bullies.
Ninja Red Riding Hood: This is another pretty modern book in my collection of favorites but we enjoyed reading this clever telling several times over.
The Knights’ Tales Collection: These books were a hit not only with our Kindergartener but with my husband. He loved reading these aloud (and it takes a good book to keep him interested). And it looks like there’s a fourth one out, yay!
Jumanji (audiobook): I love the illustrations in this timeless, exciting story – and although we wouldn’t normally have read something this thrilling to a 5-year-old, he loves games and therefore, absolutely got hooked on this book and version.
Ivan: The Remarkable True Story of the Shopping Mall GorillaIf you want to build empathy as a character with your little tykes, this book is a wonderful way to help do it.
Finding WhinnieBefore Winnie-the-Pooh, there was a real bear named Winnie and this book tells this story, thoughtfully. Be prepared to shed a tear… and enjoy the historical images.
The Giving Tree: Although this is another regular on many other Kindergarten lists, there’s a good reason. Reading this story to your child elicits fond, warm thoughts of loving someone endlessly, no matter what.
Grasshopper on the Road: As Grasshopper travels down the road he meets several characters, many of them embodying different types of people many of us meet in our life.
The TreasureIt was so fun reading this book and watching my son connect the dots. It’s simple and sweet but carries a big lesson.
Rufus the Writer: Well, this one might be on here because I love writing but it’s a fun way to give your kid a glimpse of what creative writing might look like… and entrepreneurial skills all in the same book.
The Littles (series): We love how this classic series speaks to the smallest child in an adventurous manner with enough images to keep them hooked through each story.
Nate the Great (series): If your child likes solving problems then he or she will love the Nate the Great books. Each one brings you into the world of this little detective helping solve his friend’s cases and eventually, showing them how to solve their own mysteries.
A Grain of RiceMost parents who read this story to their children see it as a life lesson… my son was excited about the math in the story when Pong Lo, the main character makes a surprising request of the emporor to help save his daughter, asking for a single grain of rice, doubled every day for one hundred days.
Elephant + Piggie (series): I know, I know, this series is extremely popular but it’s one of the many books my son was delighted to read on his own, immediately upon receipt.
The Best TrickA great beginning chapter book, created by another homeschool mom. We’re not opposed to competition in this house, so this was a cute and creative book.
The Bravest Dog EverWhat a great re-telling of the true story of Balto, my son still recognizes any other references to Balto because he loved this version of the story so much, and it’s fascinating as an adult to go back in time to Alaska.
The Monster at the end of this Book: My husband mentioned this book as one he’s read to our son a bazillion times.
The Jungle Book: A Pop-up Adventure: (So I found this treasure, along with the next book on our list, randomly at a consignment sale, and my husband still praises me to this day because we all think these are such amazing books to look through and read and will probably never get rid of them despite our minimalistic ways – they are extremely elaborate pop-ups); In this stunning retelling of a phenomenal classic, honor is tested, battles of good over evil are waged, and the importance of family reigns supreme. True to Rudyard Kipling’s original story, tree branches literally draw the reader in to this tale of Mowgli the Man Cub exploring the ruins of the Lost City, riding atop thundering elephants, and facing a fierce tiger attack!
The Wonderful Wizard of Oz: A Commemorative Pop-Up (see explanation one book up as well): Robert Sabuda has created a resplendent pop-up version of The Wonderful Wizard of Oz to celebrate the 100th anniversary of the original publication. This glorious edition is told in a shorter version of L. Frank Baum’s original text, with artwork in the style of W. W. Denslow. With sparkling touches of colored foil and Emerald City eyeglasses, this classic tale is certain to find an honored place on the family bookshelf. Amazing, guys, simply amazing.
Catwings (series): I was extremely hesitant to even begin reading these books to my son, however, to my delight he ate them up just like I did when I was young (but it wasn’t until middle school that I was introduced) so we’ll probably come back and read them again when my daughter is a bit older so they can both enjoy them.
A Fish out of WaterI find it rather comical that we wanted to include this on our list, but it’s such a fun story and shows what could happen if we don’t listen to people who know what they’re talking about! And now that my son chose to purchase a fish of his own, it’s all that more appropriate.
Angus and the Cat: We love Angus and the sweet story of his daily rituals being disrupted.
A Pet Named SneakerYes, I like this book due to the morals it teaches (that although an animal may not be everyone’s favorite, they were made for a purpose!), I like also love books with simple words and illustrations that give clues to their meaning, making it easier for kids to read through on their own.
How I Became a PirateHere we go again with pirates, I know. But these are great books with fantastic illustrations (there are more than one by this author); a lavish tale of a young boy who learns what it means to be a pirate but, at the end of the day, still needs his mom.
The Book with No PicturesOk. So here’s the deal. I’m not a fan of reading this book. Nor is my husband BUT it’s on my list because my son cracks up every. single. time we read it. And seeing the joy on his face is so worth it (and we just send it to the grandparents house almost every time he spends the night!)
It Could Always Be WorseYiddish folktales are great but they’re all over book lists as it is. The reason I included this specific one on mine is because it’s a classic telling of how, well, things could always be worse, in a classy, non-haughty manner.
What Do People Do All Day? Make sure you have about 45 minutes on hand to go through this book with your child… it’s extremely detailed but enlightening, spawning questions of all sorts as they read along with you.
The Big Balloon RaceWhat kid doesn’t love races? Let alone a race in a hotair balloon? Even better, a girl and her mother are the main characters showcasing a real ballooning family of the late 1800’s.
The TitanicThis is the perfect way to introduce your child to the Titanic. I was pleased to discuss life and death with my son during this book, and watch his fascination blossom in that wasn’t supposed to happen in a world where anything can happen.
Hill of FireWe love historical fact (and fiction) around this house. This one happens to be completely true  – a volcano growing out of the ground in a small Mexican village where the main character’s father says “nothing ever happens.” One reviewer said this book was a main inspiration for him becoming a geologist. Crazy but I can totally see why.
Noah’s Ark: The bee and the fox, the sheep and the ox–two of each kind trudged aboard Noah’s famous vessel. Peter Spier uses his own translation of a seventeenth-century Dutch poem about this most famous menagerie.
Ben Draws Trouble: SUCH a great story… I love this author’s ability to show how although a child may not be “obeying” in school, it’s not necessarily because they don’t love learning, it’s because they’re passionate about something other than what the teacher is teaching. This delightful story was read many times over because 1) my son loved reading it and 2) I loved the truth and courage behind the characters (and the illustrations).
Snowmen at NightPerfect for grabbing some hot cocoa and bundling up around a fire to read… learn why snowmen look the way they do the morning after they’re built. So cute.
Amelia BedeliaI have to admit, most of the jokes in these amazing books are way over my son’s head unless I take the time to describe each and every one, but he still loves them nonetheless, and I do too.
Swirl by Swirl, Spirals in Nature: Just, the beautiful illustrations depicting spirals and how prevalent and useful they are in nature.
Greg’s MicroscopeI doubt our son is going to be a scientist, but he’s fascinated (again) by the world God made. Therefore, this was a great book to describe how having a microscope might show him the smaller details of His living creatures.
Pompeii…Buried Alive! Great book illustrating what happened in Pompeii. Again, we love history and this was a fun way to read about this historic event together.
Mary on Horseback: Once again we’re in love with history. This book tells a very well-written account about Mary Breckinridge (who had been a nurse in WWI) and how she learned in 1923 about the nonexistent medical facilities in Appalachian Kentucky, and founded the Frontier Nursing Service. My son was full of questions before, during and after we finished this book. We went on to watch an informational video (black & white without color) about Mary and her work.
Wild Ideas: What a fascinating way to look at problem solving and idea generation taken from the animal kingdom in the midst of what nature throws our way. The art and illustration in this book is different than any other book out there.
Abe Lincoln Crosses a Creek: As much as I love historical fiction, when my son picked this one up at the library I wasn’t so keen. But after reading it more times than I can remember, it turned into such a heartwarming story about Abe Lincoln and his best childhood friend with intruiging illustrations both my son and I will never forget.
Mirette on Highwire: To me as a mother, this book illustrated something important – overcoming your fears. Although my son is fascinated with how one would walk on a tightrope anyway, this book set in the 19th century helps him see past even his own physical limitations.
The Empty Pot: WOW. Just WOW. I could go on and on about how wonderful this book is. It may not look like much with it’s subtle, almost dainty illustrations, but the message it tells is huge and I immediately saw how this book impacted my son in real life immediately after reading it.
Sky Boys: How They Built the Empire State BuildingMy husband once again, not a big book reader himself, thought this was a fantastic book as he read it to our son as it provides a riveting brick-by-brick account of how one of the most amazing accomplishments in American architecture came to be.
Bright Ideas! Benjamin Bear (graphic novel series): This is a seriously hilarious book with simple graphics that not only make your child laugh but make him think. A favorite for us.
Go Dog Go!Easy to read. Simple. Timeless. And bonus – my son loved reading it over and over and over again to his 2-year-old sister.
The Day-Glo Brothers: The true story of how two brothers created neon colors during the Great Depression. Also discusses one’s dreams and attaining them in a different way than you might image.
The Emperor’s New Clothes: My son consistently talks about this story… although I’m not sure he understands the meaning, this on is the classic fairy tale, illustrated in 1949.
The Llama Who Had No Pajama: 100 Favorite Poems: We didn’t get all the way through this book as it’s still in our home library, but the poems were short and sweet and span from nature to daily events and ideas, and are perfect for grasping the ideas. We’d then go and work with PlayDough to create whatever came to mind after reading these poems.
The New Adventures of The Little Prince (graphic novel series): This is my one exception to my own rule about adaptation… These books are an adaptation of a TV show about the character of Antoine de Saint-Exupéry’s 1943 illustrated novella The Little Prince. Although I believe many of these storylines were above my son’s head, he read through each and every comic book, and I remember grabbing over twelve different ones from the library.
Richard Scarry’s Please and Thank You Book: We focus on raising children with character being at the foundation… so this was a no-brainer and a great read.
See Inside Your Body (a lift-the-flap book): This is a great book for introducing your children to what happens in our bodies and how it functions on a daily basis. And the information sticks more because of all the information they obtain via lifting each flap. But usually, if my son has a bodily function-type question, this is the book I pull out for now. 
Petunia: I think both my son and I loved this book so much because we love books and what we gain from them. In this, the first of the series of classic books featuring the silly goose, Petunia finds a book—and, deciding that if she owns a book she must be wise, dispenses hilariously mistaken advice to the other animals in the farmyard.
Danny the Dinosaur:
Any of the Danny the Dinosaur books are fun to read alone or together. 
Morris and Boris
: I’m not exactly sure why, other than the humor, my son became addicted to reading these silly books with me but they do provide comical relief to both kids and adults.
One Morning in Maine: The author, Robert McCloskey, also wrote classics such as Blueberries for Sal and Time of Wonder – both books on many, many booklists. So I chose to include One Morning in Maine because of the timeliness – a loose tooth!
The Lion and the Mouse: This is a simple retelling of the Aesop Fable… but it’s on my list simply because it was the first book my son ever read aloud to me at the beginning of his Kindergarten year. Sweet, sweet memories… that’s all.
Read with Me BibleOnce again, we have another Bible on this list. This is mainly because God and the word of God comes first in our family before all other books. This one made it on here because of the fantastic graphics that first drew my son to it. And secondly, the stories are short and easy to understand. This version contains 106 Bible stories based on the New International Reader’s Version. We sat down and read a few stories each morning before homeschool began after we had finished our devotional Leading Little Ones to God (which we’ll repeat this 1st grade year coming up), and is a devotional I highly recommend.
When I was a Boy… I DreamedMy parents actually purchased this book for my son at an expo so we got to meet Mark Ludy, the author, who is incredibly talented. Unlike many authors we’ve read and let go, this one has stayed a favorite bedtime story for us.
Bink and Gollie (series): Although this book features two girls, it’s the same author who wrote the Mercy Watson books (as well as The Tale of Despereaux we just haven’t gotten to that book quite yet) so it’s an easy read with whimsical illustrations and quite silly short stories.
The Metropolitan Museum of Art “Can You Find It?”: Another wonderful book inviting your child into the world of art, and helping them peruse for a while and look at details. With major works from the collections of The Metropolitan Museum of Art in New York City, this book offers a close look at works from early Egyptian to 20th-century American.
StuckAnother book that seems to be “stuck” on our shelf. Ever since our son was two this has been a favorite – a silly boy who tries to get his kite down as it’s stuck in a tree.
The Giant Jam Sandwich: He loved this lyrical, rhyming text showing the industrious citizens of Itching Down knead, bake, and slather the biggest wasp trap there ever was.
The FlyThere’s never a dull moment in this funny, beautifully illustrated tale depicting a pesky fly in a whole new light.
Ten Pigs: An Epic Bath Adventure: I have to admit the bubbly illustrations made me smile but my son loved, loved, loved this cute story so we read it many times through.
The Biggest Bear: We cheated a bit with the audiobook version of this story but my son loved retelling it to me in great detail. If you’re not afraid of how humans used to trap and kill animals to obtain food then this will delight. The text is relatively simple, with usually one to three sentences on every other page and the sepia-toned illustrations are beautiful.
Parts: The same guy that wrote the Fly Guy chapter books write about one boy who thinks he’s actually falling apart due to silly things happening to his body. My son actually held this book up for his aunt to read to him over video chat from South Korea.
Fox in Socks: A tongue-twister book, make sure you’ve drank enough water before starting it… next, challenge your kid to read it all the way through.
The Hole Story of the Doughnut: Do you (or your kids) know how and where and by whose hands doughnuts started? This tells the “hole” story. Mmmmm
Get the Giggles: A First Joke Book: My kid loves jokes. He loves (trying) to tell them. This book is easy enough for him to read (and thus memorize) some great, easy-to-tell jokes.
Secrets of the Rainforest: A great non-fiction book about the rainforest in which you read it alongside your child as they use a flashlight to discover hidden animals in wild.
I Feel Better with a Frog in My ThroatBefore modern medicine doctors relied on things like mummy powder, moldy bread, electric eels and mustard. This is such a fun way to discover some of history’s strangest cures (and learn which ones are still in practice today!)
Fletcher and the Falling Leaves: It’s autumn, and Fletcher’s favorite tree is slowly changing colors and losing its leaves. Fletcher is very worried. Sweet, whimsical and picked up more than one time to read.
Happy Birthday, MoonFunny enough, I grabbed this book at the dollar store last-minute before a road trip with the kids. Never in my right mind did I realize what a fantastic book it is! My son also loves reading it with me to his two-year-old sister. The illustrations are a bit interesting but the story is sure to delight.
Creatures of the Desert World (National Geographic pop-up): This is such an intricate and therefore fun yet informative book about desert animals. Library addition for sure as your kids will go through this multiple times over.
Squid and Octopus: Friends for Always: Delightful short stories about two friends working out life’s questions and problems, together.
Dr. De Soto: I’m not sure any kid enjoys going to the dentist (although ours is stellar it’s still a cruddy way to spend one’s afternoon. But this book about a Dentist mouse is delightful and witty.
The Skunk: Delightfully odd, a book you never want to end and one you and your child will giggle through. A skunks follows a man… what on eart does he want?
The Tale of Peter Rabbit (a pop-up book): Just reading this classic story to my son would have offered plenty of fun but read it together with this intricate, interactive pop-up book is sure to concrete the story in memory forever. A favorite in our home library.
Free Fall: When he falls asleep with a book in his arms, a young boy dreams an amazing dream-about dragons, about castles, and about an unchartered, faraway land. And you can come along.
___

What’s next on our list for 1st Grade? Too many to count but lots of history by Beautiful Feet Books and more classics, starting with the Chronicles of Narnia – in order by which they were written:

The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe (1950)
Prince Caspian (1951)
The Voyage of the Dawn Treader (1952)
The Silver Chair (1953)
The Horse and His Boy (1954)
The Magician’s Nephew (1955)
The Last Battle (1956)

A few book list references I refer to often, have invested in and/or recommend include:
Sonlight
Good and Beautiful Booklist (Jenny Phillips)
Exodus Books
Read Aloud Revival
What Do We Do All Day

One thought on “100+ Great Books for Kindergarten Boys

Leave a Reply

