We Have The Power

Some days all you can think about is how fast you plan to go to bed yourself once your kids go down… and that’s been me, oh, since our daughter was born almost two years ago. And it’s getting old. So old.

And so it seems my body has begun to revolt. I get headaches, I get hives, I’m literally weak. It has shown me how frail we are as human beings… no matter how strong we try or want to be, our bodies have limits in this world.

But it doesn’t have to be this way. I know this. Something is missing despite my best intentions to fuel my body correctly (I am that green juicing freak who eats only eggs and oatmeal with berries in the morning, stick to water and green tea during the day, never consume dairy or soy or gluten and live a rather paleo-esque type of lifestyle).

So I go see my Chiropractor. Relief comes quickly with a few adjustments, icing & stretches.

But after about a week and continued Chiro visits my body continues to show signs of giving up on me when I really need it the most – um – every day since I homeschool my kids.

And there are only so many days you can chalk homeschooling up to “I have a headache so watching Wild Kratts counts as curriculum until the Advil kicks in.” And there are only so many times I can tell myself I just have a short temper because I got zero sleep the night before or I need a nap and know I won’t get wink in for the next eight hours.

Aha! Maybe I’m just missing prayer for sleep and health. So I ask my family to pray pray pray. That’s got to be it.

But I now look back and realize hadn’t really pinpointed it yet…

So I go to see my Naturepath. She helped clear the fog. She gave me ideas on vitamins I’m lacking, took my blood, gave me advice for helping my toddler sleep (still working on this one), ways to get my immune system back in gear and has offered homeopathic remedies for the other ailments.

At this point I’m starting to feel a little better. Although I’m still lacking in sleep I at least have a straight neck and vitamins and remedies coursing through my body.

So, to add this all up I’ve got my Naturepath instructions, chiropractic visits until my insurance stops kicking in, and most importantly – family prayers (which I’m convinced have probably died down by now because I’ve tapped into that avenue for about a year now). And we can’t leave out my old trusty friend, Advil.

Now all I’m lacking is physical strength. Literally just the strength to keep going when times get tough, like when I’m on a hike with my kids and the toddler has a melt down in the middle nowhere. Or I’m working with my older son on written vocabulary lessons (ones he wanted to work on because we Christian Unschool our kids) and he starts melting down. Or they both start arguing and I’m in the middle of making dinner – where do I find the strength to stay calm, collected and remain a patient, loving mother?

The only place I can find true strength is within myself – because it already exists inside of me if I hold on to Jesus.

See, our God is the same God who created this planet. (Read this again: OUR GOD IS THE SAME GOD WHO CREATED THIS PLANET). He rose mountains out of the dirt, crafted us and the animals and the oceans and forests that house them.

Our God is the same God who led Moses through the Red Sea, and led mere men to defeat entire armies and saved Meshach, Shadrach and Abednego from burning to death in the furnace of fire.

Our God is the same God who brought people back from the dead, healed the blind and cured the sick. And that same God – Jesus the living God – lives inside of me.

And if you believe then you too hold the same power God has just as Jesus says in Matthew 17:20; “For truly, I say to you, if you have faith like a grain of mustard seed, you will say to this mountain, ‘Move from here to there,’ and it will move, and nothing will be impossible for you.”

So do not despair. For in Psalms 73:26 it says; “my mind and my body may grow weak, but God is my strength; he is all I ever need.”

And if you find yourself lacking strength, He’s all you ever need too. Don’t believe me. Believe in Him and you too can conquer anything in your path.

With Love.

 

Leave a Reply

