Is Homeschooling Worth It?

We’re nearing 3/4 of our way through our first school year and I’m finding myself already looking back and asking, “Is homeschooling worth it?”

Is it worth the countless hours alongside my kids, day in and day out?
Is it worth the hours I could have gained for myself by simply sending them to school?
Is it worth the tantrums and tears and tough days you feel will never end?
Is it worth my time?
Is it worth my kids’ time?
Is it worth it for our family?

Every time I ponder this question my heart immediately shouts “YES!”

Since we Christian Unschool our kids, our school year is flying by. And my son, who’s Kindergarten age, has learned so much – almost all on his own.

“Children do not need to be made to learn to be better, told what to do or shown how. If they are given access to enough of the world, they will see clearly enough what things are truly important to themselves and to others, and they will make for themselves a better path into that world then anyone else could make for them” John Holt~, (1923-1985) American Educator, How Children Fail

Of course we’re here alongside him the entire time offering answers (or the means to find the answers), resources, support, opportunities, experiences and most importantly, starting and ending our days by spending time with God.

I feel blessed to watch him grow in the Lord exponentially – praising God, praying, asking God for forgiveness and help daily, as well as seeing God’s glory in the real world.

I got to see him devour four entire children’s Bibles on his own time, something he wouldn’t have been able to do if I sent him away on a bus every morning.

These things far outweigh his newfound abilities such as reading, writing and doing math problems at 1st and 2nd grade levels, identifying plant and animal life, solar system and science terms, being creative and inventive in his problem solving skills, excelling in Taekwondo, learning survival skills and music and discussing the way we live and experiencing the way our world works.

All of our son’s growth this year amazes me. But nothing inspires me to continue homeschooling more than his heart’s desire to be nearer to God and live in a way that pleases the Lord (thus pleasing those around him!).

I constantly want to prove to skeptics and bureaucrats the quality of a home education but I know our son has grown more than I could have ever expected. And no academic test can measure that.

So, is it worth it?

I’d have to say a resounding Yes. YES. YES!

At first I had no idea what God was getting us all into and now I can’t thank Him enough.

Do you homeschool? Is it worth it for your family?

With Love.

Leave a Reply

