The Unschoolers. The Outcasts. The Called.

It’s already challenging telling others we homeschool. Let alone telling others we Christian Unschool our kids. Which is probably why I veer away from any curriculum discussions with other homeschooling moms and simply let our family know we enjoy a relaxed homeschool.

But let us be honest. It’s not about others and their opinions. It’s about us and our perception of others’ perceptions about us. Right?

I’m oftentimes reminded to turn back to Jesus especially when we get so fixated on different educational theories and trying to defend our choices and back them up with scripture – especially for our skeptics.

Let me always remember no one can understand our hearts and desires as a family nor could they come close to understanding our “positions” we hold as parents for our children if they don’t too have a personal relationship with Jesus.

Even then, many well-meaning Christians find it difficult to understand how God has called us in our work differently than they were called to guide their children. But for some reason they understand the calling of pastors, missionaries and those who serve the Lord in their own unique way, many who live their lives even more directionally dedicated to God than homeschooling.

Now then, let’s really be honest. It’s not about us then is it?

It’s much larger than that.

It’s a movement of individuals called to change course for the purpose of helping God with his canvas creation. We’re all small dots on his large canvas but if dots are missing, the picture is skewed and doesn’t portray the beauty it was meant to show. I imagine all of this similar to how Georges Seurat painted in the 1800s, one of his most famous being A Sunday Afternoon on the Island of La Grande.

Blessed be those who fail to see we’re following a narrow path, however unsightly or misunderstood it may be, as laid down by our Savior – our true and eternal Father, companion and teacher.

 

6 thoughts on “The Unschoolers. The Outcasts. The Called.

  1. Jamie Carter says:

    Aren’t you ever worried that your children’s education will be missing a few dots when compared to other children their age as they get older? What if they decide not to learn Algebra and therefore can’t get into college? What if they don’t graduate with the equivalent of a GED and as a result are stuck with minimum wage jobs? What if they decided not to learn the basics so they don’t know what they need to in order to fulfill their dreams? Because I took classes I didn’t want to but had to, it enabled me to choose from more advanced classes that opened up doors for me and opened my eyes to the possibilities before me.

    Like

  2. Calm + Uncollected says:

    Great question, Jamie. Not really, no.

    I’m happy they’ll be missing out on peer pressure, a few bad teachers, drugs and gold stars among many other things. And there are a ton of “What If’s” even if your children go to school!

    First and foremost, we trust the Lord to light our child’s path and provide the ways in due time when and what my children need for the next step in life. Hop over to my “What Is Christian Unschooling?” post for more on this. But basically, my job as an unschooling parent, and from what I understand from other seasoned unschoolers, is to help guide my children with all possibilities and avenues to achieve their goals. For example, say my child wants to be a doctor (or simply go to college) someday… it is our role as parents to show him or her what they will need to become a doctor or go to ABC college. This includes many skills, many classes and time spent learning what he or she needs to know to get into college, if that’s their path. What’s great about unschooling is they’ll learn at a much younger age than waiting until their 18 to make any decisions. On a smaller scale, for another example, since my kids are still rather young, my son has been adamant about getting his black belt. We explain to him often what this will take. A lot of memorization (Korean language), many classes, tests…etc. And a lot of physical and mental endurance. He has shown his commitment and has never wavered, so we help him continue (he’s a green belt now).

    I could go on, but…

    Keep in mind my son learned to read earlier than most, so he’s off learning things with or without me now. I can imagine unschooling isn’t for everyone or every family. I can say wholeheartedly it’s what God has called us to do, right now. It may change. We’re open to His plans, always.

    Hope this helps!

    Liked by 2 people

  3. bookbuffoonery says:

    I’m glad to hear that there are other moms out there like myself! It can be a lonely road at times. I’ve found that I don’t fit in with most other homeschoolers. I’m too liberal for the Christian homeschoolers, and too religious for the more liberal homeschoolers.

    Like

Leave a Reply

